Know Who You Are: 5 Reasons Why What We Do Matters

Last week I wrote about finding my identity not in what I do but in who I am in Christ. When I let what I do define me, I can become disappointed, discouraged, and depressed, because I’m not perfect. I will always be less than satisfied in my “doing” identity.

So if identity is not best rooted in what we do, what do we do with what we do? If I am truly accepted and chosen as God’s child, does what I do matter?

Of course!  Here are five reasons why:

  • We are commanded to be doers. “But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves.” (James 1:22)
  • What we do affects others’ perception of who God is. We are ambassadors for Christ and what we do reflects on His name – whether good or bad. “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16) “…Whoever serves is to do so as one who is serving by the strength which God supplies; so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ…” (l Peter 4:11)
  • God put thought and preparation into our good works. “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.” (Eph. 2:10)
  • What we do should flow from a heart of love for God, not from a heavy burden of duty. “In fact, this is love for God: to keep his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith.” (I John 5:3-4)
  • We are members of the body of Christ, each with a unique purpose to accomplish so the body will function properly.“For the body is not one member, but many….If the whole body were an eye, where would the hearing be? If the whole were hearing, where would the sense of smell be? But now God has placed the members, each one of them, in the body, just as He desired.” (I Cor. 12:14, 17-18)

So what we do matters greatly. We have so many options in society of what to do. How do we choose? How much choice do we have? Is there one “right” thing to do each moment? Is God unhappy with us if we choose “wrong”?

I will explore these questions in the future. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

