Clear the Mental Clutter by Clearing the Physical Clutter: Project 333 Begins

I just have to share. Not because I’ve done much of what I’m about to share, but because I already feel the joy and abundance this will bring to my life when I’m done.

Today I read about Project 333 via a guest post on Money Saving Mom. Project 333 is where you pare down your wardrobe to the essential 33 items that you will wear for the next 3 months. I am so ready for this. I have been thinking about my clothes as I’ve thought about the main idea of “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up,” which is to only have things in your home that spark joy. I’ve already gotten rid of some things that I knew didn’t spark joy.

But I was feeling a little stuck.

What does bring me joy? Some things I wear because they’re useful, so they’re just there, but they don’t necessarily bring joy. Ah, but if I can only have 33 items that are essential, that shifts my thinking yet again. I could ditch the black skirt that is starting to fray at the seams because surely there are a couple other skirts in my closet that I could wear instead. (Her list of how to build a capsule wardrobe breaks down the number of items of each kind of clothing she keeps, which I plan to base my list on, though mine will be a little different. Sunglasses just aren’t an essential part of my wardrobe!) And all you do with the things you aren’t using for 3 months is store them in a box, so if I really miss it, I can get it back (I just have to trade for something else).

It’s Not About the Clothes

Am I interested in narrowing down my wardrobe so I’ll have more space or a cleaner house? Maybe partially, but I think it will help me not have to think as much about what I wear each day, get me thinking about how I can eliminate clutter in other areas of my life, and will allow my brain to focus on other, more important things.

Courtney at Project 333 linked to another post about her Desire Map, which piqued my curiosity. The idea is to look at your desires and get down to the main four or five. Whether we’re looking at essential wants or essential clothes, getting rid of the extra stuff in our life helps us get to the core of who we are and what we really want.

I was curious about this blogger’s list of desires.

And they are not physical things.

In our materialistic society we think we want the new dress or the cute scarf (and some of those things do bring some pleasure and even a little joy), but when we get down to it, it’s not things we want. Here’s her list:

  • Joy: I am so happy to be right here. I’ve been saying that a lot lately, and I am smiling more.
  • Light: This was my word of 2013 and now it is one of my CDFs (core desired feelings). And I mean light in every way you can imagine.
  • Benevolent: I want to give more of my time and money to those who need it most.
  • Free: Yep, more freedom.
  • Rapturous: I want that feeling of being swept up by falling in love everyday.

One of the things I really want is a less cluttered house. What happens when I achieve that goal? I get to pursue something even more important, like studying the Bible, playing games with my kids, or planning a date night with my husband.

Cleaning out my closet isn’t just so I can have a cute wardrobe or even a cleaner house. The reason I want a less cluttered house is because the process of making my physical world more orderly helps me figure out what I really want and gives me the mental freedom to go pursue it. And that leads to an abundant life!

What do you think of doing Project 333 with your closet? What is it you really want? I’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Clear the Mental Clutter by Clearing the Physical Clutter: Project 333 Begins

  1. You really MUST read the Life-changing Magic of Tidying Up. I was given the book, read it and used her method to go through my clothes. I am planning to do every area of my house! You know I am big on not having things you don’t use and re-purposing wherever possible. I had 4 bags of clothes and purses that I donated – I was amazed I had that much to get rid of. Less things translates to more time – it is true.

    Like

    • Teddi, yes! I must read this book! I have it on hold at the library and am hoping it will come in soon. I also didn’t realize how many clothes I had and am enjoying my simplified closet! I will be adding a follow-up post soon. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

