Patience Isn’t Hard Until You Have to Wait

I’m a very patient person… until I have to wait longer than I want.

I say all the right things… I’m trusting God, it’s in His hands, it’s in His timing. But is my life showing the fruit – patience, joy, peace, kindness? Not so much.

So why? Why can I say that I’m trusting God, but my feelings and actions don’t reflect that trust?

A friend gave me a framed picture with Romans 15:13 on it:

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

I’ve been focusing on the word “believing.” Always the analyzer, I’ve been examining what I really believe that has me so down and grumpy. Below are the “verses” (from the Marya’s Impatience Version (MIV) Bible) I’ve been believing:

Delight yourself in the LORD; And you will have to figure out a way to get people to do what you want them to do.

“Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also that you can manipulate circumstances to suit your wants.”

And we’re pretty sure that God causes most things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

Okay, don’t go quoting those to yourself. I don’t recommend the MIV.

It occurred to me today that God has shown me some of the things He wants for me and my family. The desires that He has given me are also His desires for me. And if He desires those for me, He can and will bring those things to pass. Maybe just not in the timing that I’d like.

So instead of believing verses from the MIV Bible, I’m choosing to believe what God actually said:

Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart. (Psalm 37:4)

“Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me.” (John 14:1)

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28)

My circumstances may not change, I may continue waiting. But my attitude changes when understand that God is on my side, when I believe what God has said and trust Him to act on my behalf out of His love.

Leave a Reply

